iOS background modes. Apply and tame in practice

RU / Day 1 / 19:00 / Track 2

Background mode is a powerful tool to keep an idle application running. In practice, we're faced with the fact that it's necessary to execute or continue the execution of some application functionality in the background, while the user switches his attention to others. This can be not only receiving notifications but also maintaining communication with external devices, sending network requests, updating location information, or some kind of synchronization in the background.

However, keeping multiple applications running at the same time is energy-intensive. Apple, to extend the operation of the device, introduces more and more conditions and restrictions which often require a complete rethinking of the current functionality. And the native solutions have many nuances and hidden pitfalls.

The developer is required to ensure the correct execution of the functionality of the inactive application, not to conflict with the concept of energy saving in iOS, and to keep within the 30 seconds. This requires an advanced approach to solving the problem.

In this talk, Anna wants to highlight the main complex cases of working with Background Modes. Ans show how without forbidden tricks, using nuances and native solutions, to bypass iOS restrictions.

We will consider such situations as:

  • support for periodic application operation;
  • polling of sensors and device sensors in the background (including BLE and GPS);
  • extension of work in the background and synchronization according to your own rules.

We will also see if the new solutions offered in iOS 13 and iOS 14 will help in achieving these goals in these situations.


Download presentation

iOS background modes. Применяем и укрощаем на практике

RU / День 3 / 17:15 / Зал 3

Фоновый режим работы — это мощный инструмент поддержки работы неактивного приложения. Очень часто мы на практике сталкиваемся с тем, что необходимо выполнять или продолжать выполнение какого-то функционала приложения в фоне, в то время, как пользователь переключает свое внимание на другие. Это может быть не только получение уведомлений, но и поддержание связи с внешними устройствами, отправка сетевых запросов, обновления информации о местоположении или какая-то синхронизация в фоне.

Однако поддержание одновременной работы нескольких приложений — процесс энергоемкий. Apple в стремлении продлить работу устройства вводит все новые и новые условия и ограничения, которые часто требуют полного переосмысления текущего функционала. А предлагаемые ими нативные решения имеют много нюансов и скрытых подводных камней.

От разработчика требуется обеспечить корректность выполнения функционала неактивного приложения, не войти в противоречие с концепцией энергосбережения в iOS и уложиться в отведенные по умолчанию 30 секунд. Это требует advanced-подхода к решению задачи.

В своем докладе Анна хочет осветить основные сложные кейсы работы с Background Modes. Показать, как без запрещенных приемов, используя нюансы и нативные решения, обойти ограничения iOS.

В качестве практических примеров рассмотрим такие ситуации, как:

  • поддержка периодической работы приложения;
  • опрос сенсоров и датчиков устройства в фоновом режиме (в т.ч BLE и GPS);
  • продление работы в фоне и синхронизация по своим правилам.

Также посмотрим на то, помогут ли в достижении целей в этих ситуаций новые решения, предлагаемые в iOS 13 и iOS 14.