Start of main content

Frustrating Mobile Design Patterns in 2021, And How To Fix Them

Day 4

RU

You’ve seen them before. Confusing and frustrating design patterns that seem to be chasing you everywhere you go, from one website to another. Perhaps it’s a birthday selector dropdown that always starts in 2021, or a disabled submit button that never communicates what's actually wrong, or tooltips that — once opened — always cover the input field just when you need to correct a mistake. They are everywhere, and they are annoying, often tossing us from one dead-end to another, in something that seems like a well-orchestrated and poorly designed mousetrap.

In this talk, we’ll take a closer look at some frustrating design patterns and explore better alternatives, along with plenty of examples and checklists to keep in mind when building or designing one. We’ll look into birthday input, mega-drop-down-hover-menus, disabled “Continue” buttons, newsletter boxes showing on first load, draconian password requirements, unusable sliders, poor inline validation, invisible tooltips, broken filters and of course parallax and scrolljacking — along with identifying buses and fire hydrants.

The insights are coming from usability tests and user research conducted by yours truly or our colleagues in the community. You’ll walk away with a packed toolbox of techniques that you’ll be able to apply to your projects right away.

  • #UI/UX
  • #Design
  • #keynote

Speakers

Invited experts

Начало основного контента

Разочаровавшие паттерны мобильной разработки в 2021 году — как сделать их лучше

День 4

RU

Вы наверняка с ними сталкивались. Паттерны мобильной разработки, которые вызывают возмущение и разочарование — кажется, они преследуют вас везде, почти в каждом сайте. Меню выбора даты рождения, которое всегда начинается с 2021 года. Нерабочая кнопка «подтвердить», с которой никогда не поймешь, что не так. Подсказки, которые закрывают собой поле ввода, когда хочешь исправить ошибку в том, что написал. Они везде, они бесят, приводят в тупик, и кажется, что сайт выглядит как хорошо организованная, но очень плохо задизайненная ловушка.

В докладе рассмотрим некоторые паттерны проектирования, которые разочаровали спикера, и поищем альтернативы. Будет много примеров и чек-листов для разработчика интерфейсов. Рассмотрим меню выбора даты рождения, огро-о-омные выпадающие списки, неработающие кнопки «Продолжить», навязчивые предложения подписаться на рассылку, драконовские требования к паролям, слайдеры, которыми невозможно пользоваться, валидацию на стороне клиента, вплывающие подсказки, которые не появляются при клике, сломанные фильтры и, конечно же, параллакс и скроллинг. И куда же без вечных «найдите все картинки с автобусами и пожарными машинами».

Виталий поделится инсайтами, полученными в результате тестирований и исследований UX, которые проводил он или его коллеги. В результате вы получите целый набор техник, которые тут же сможете применять в своих проектах.

  • #UI/UX
  • #Design
  • #keynote

Спикеры

Приглашенные эксперты